Product Details

Welcome to the Gonzo USA web site.

This web site ships to the USA and Canada only. For all other countries please go to our European and Worldwide web site at

Merrell Fankhauser - The Best Of (2CD)

Genre: Pop/Psychedelic
Release Date: 31st July 2011

Label: Gonzo
Catalogue Number: HST074CD
Price: $14.49
This product is not currently available.
Available: Sorry - Not currently available

Merrell Fankhauser - The Best Of
This is my description text 1. It can support html.

Merrell Fankhauser was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and moved to California when he was 13 years old. This move was to have a life changing-effect on the teenager. Merrell went on to become one of the innovators of surf music, enjoying success with his band The Impacts and also a hit album entitled Wipe Out. Merrell went on later in the sixties to branch out into psychedelic folk rock.

His travels from Hollywood to his 15-year jungle experience on the island of Maui have been documented in numerous music books and magazines in the United States and Europe. Merrell has gained legendary international status throughout the field of rock music: his credits include over 250 songs published and released.

The Best Of Merrell Frankhauser is just that: the best tracks selected from Merrell’s entire career and across a two-CD set and more than thirty tracks, you can track the progress of Merrell Frankhauser’s career. All the tracks have been selected personally by Merrell and the album covers the period from 1964 right through to the present, and covers all the bands Merrell was involved with including his early band Merrell and The Exiles. Tracks include Too Many Heartbreaks, She’s Gone, I’m Flyin’ Home, Goin’ South and also a number of previously unreleased tracks.

Merrell Frankhauser has a long and varied career, and also a proven sales track record and this double Best Of compilation will act as not only a primer for new fans but also a good cross-section of tracks from his career for long-term fans.

Disc 1
1. Too Many Heartbreaks
2. She's Gone
3. Lila
4. Supermarket
5. Drivin' Sideways On A One Way Street
6. Girl I Am Waitin' For You
7. I Am Flying Home
8. The Clouds Went That Way
9. One More Day
10. The Land of Mu
11. Blue Jay Blue
12. On Our Way To Hana
13. Garden In The Rain
14. Make A Joyful Noise
15. Dharmic Connection
16. Some Of Them Escaped It All

Disc 2
1. Calling From A Star
2. Alien Talk
3. Matthew's Dream
4. Waterfall
5. Who Can You Call?
6. Workin' In The City
7. Flying To Machu Picchu
8. Goin' South
9. Queen Mu
10. Haiku Jam
11. Tale of Misty Mountain
12. Move To Higher Ground
13. Two Vegetarians
14. Surfin Pismo
15. When Merrell Met Jane
16. Tiki Lounge


Browse By Genre

New Releases
All the latest products

New and up-coming

Gonzo Web Radio
Interviews with Gonzo Artists

Gonzo Artists
Biographies, photos and more

Browse the Gonzo Label catalogue

Mailing List