Product Details

Welcome to the Gonzo USA web site.

This web site ships to the USA and Canada only. For all other countries please go to our European and Worldwide web site at

Hawkwind - Space Ritual Live (2CD1DVD)

Genre: Psychedelic Rock
Release Date: 25th March 2015

Label: Gonzo
Catalogue Number: HAWKGZ103DVD
Price: $25.99
This product is not currently available.
Available: Sorry - Not currently available

Hawkwind - Space Ritual Live
This is my description text 1. It can support html.

Hawkwind are an English rock band, one of the earliest space rock groups. Their lyrics favour urban and science fiction themes. They are considered a key link between the hippie and punk cultures. Formed in November 1969, Hawkwind have gone through many incarnations and styles of music. Dozens of musicians, dancers and writers have worked with the group since their inception.

The original album Space Ritual Alive in Liverpool and London is a 1973 live double album recorded in 1972 by Hawkwind. It is their fourth album, reached #9 in the UK album charts and briefly dented the Billboard Top 200, peaking at #179.

The album was recorded during the tour to promote their Doremi Fasol Latido album, which comprises the bulk of this set. In addition, there are new tracks ("Born To Go", "Upside Down" and "Orgone Accumulator") and the songs are interspersed by electronic and spoken pieces making this one continuous performance. Their recent hit single "Silver Machine" was excluded from the set, and only "Master of the Universe" remains from their first two albums.

The Space Ritual show attempted to create a full audio-visual experience, representing themes developed by Barney Bubbles and Robert Calvert entwining the fantasy of Starfarers in suspended animation traveling through time and space with the concept of the music of the spheres. The performance featured dancers Stacia, Miss Renee, Jonathan Carney (later of the V8 Intercepters) and Tony Carrera, stage set by Bubbles, lightshow by Liquid Len and poetry recitations by Calvert. On entering the venue, audience members were given a programme (reproduced on the 1996 remaster CD) featuring a short sci-fi story by Bubbles setting the band in a Starfarers scenario returning to Earth.

In 2014 Hawkwind returned to this seminal piece of music in its entirety for the first time in 40 years, with a show at the Shepherd's Bush Empire (after a warm up show in Seaton, Devon thge day before). The show was a benefit concert for various animal rights groups, and Gonzo are very proud to be releasing it on DVD.


CD One

  1. Seasons
  2. Steppenwolf
  3. Utopia
  4. Opa Loka
  5. Spiral Galaxy
  6. Reefer Madness
  7. Sentinel
  8. Spirit of the Age

CD2 & DVD:

  1. Earth Calling
  2. Born To Go
  3. Down Through The Night
  4. Poem 1st Landing
  5. Lord of Light
  6. Poem Black Corridor
  7. Space is Deep
  8. A Step Into Space
  9. Orgone Accumulator
  10. Upside Down
  11. Poem 10th Second of Forever
  12. Brainstorm
  13. Seven By Seven
  14. Sonic Attack
  15. Time We Left
  16. Masters of the Universe
  17. Welcome To The Future


Browse By Genre

New Releases
All the latest products

New and up-coming

Gonzo Web Radio
Interviews with Gonzo Artists

Gonzo Artists
Biographies, photos and more

Browse the Gonzo Label catalogue

Mailing List